Bobby's War (Shirley Mann) (Preloved)

Bobby's War (Shirley Mann) (Preloved)

£7.99 Regular Price
£2.00Sale Price

An inspiring and uplifting tale of women on the home front, for fans of Nancy Revell and Vicki Beeby. By the author of Lily's War.

On the ground, the crowd of men stood with their mouths agape, watching the wings soar into the air, the tail kept impressively steady and the small plane with a woman at the controls disappearing into the May sunshine.

It's 1942 and Bobby Hollis has joined the Air Transport Auxiliary in a team known as the 'glamour girls' - amazing women who pilot aircraft all around the country.

Bobby always wanted to escape life on the family farm and the ATA seemed like the perfect opportunity for her. But there's always something standing in her way. Like a demanding father, who wants to marry her off to a rich man. And the family secrets that threaten to engulf everything.

As Bobby navigates her way through life, and love, she has to learn that controlling a huge, four-engined bomber might just be easier than controlling her own life . . 

 

Condition: Very Good

This is a used book in very good condition, with a minimal amount of creasing the spine, square binding and minimal or no discolouration to the pages.